Summer Task- Visual Diary

Before beginning university in September, we were set a couple of summer tasks. The visual diary being one of them. We weren’t really told what to do with this other than to photograph from when we wake up in the morning to when we go to sleep at night, giving us a massive freedom. A few themes were given as examples, but to be honest I didn’t know where to begin, so I just photographed my everyday life. From my view waking up every morning, to what I get up to most days, and some portraits of those close to me as I felt that with this task being a diary it should be personal to me.  There are a few more interesting photos as I was lucky to work at a couple of friends weddings so I got a few opportunities to take some photos.  I think you will be able to tell by my images that I am fond of my horses and dogs.  My favourite images I took this summer are in the final slideshow. In these images is my farrier shoeing my horse. I really like the black and white filters on these, it especially brings out the detail in the smoke.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Here is a mixture of some every day shots I took during the summer illustrating my life. Theres also a couple of portraits which I took of a few people close to me. I feel that the images I’ve captured of these people are what reminds me of them, for example the one of my boyfriend yawning as he’s always tired due to excess work, and my brother on the sofa constantly playing on the playstation or computer. The last image featured is a humorous one I just decided to add in at the end. Its my mound of things in my bedroom getting ready for university which is a big part of my life at the moment.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am most happy with the final images displayed of my farrier. These images are much more thought through, more artistic and better quality than my other summer photographs. I intended on documenting what happens when my farrier visits (which is quite often, therefore time consuming, and very expensive!) which I think I achieved well. I particularly like the effect of the smoke which makes a focal point  in most of the images, the black and white effect I added on top serves to emphasise this. Other small details such as the shoes and equipment add a final touch to the set of images, serving to document all involved in a farrier visit. The last couple of photographs feature the farriers dog. I photographed him as he is very interesting and intriguing to the eye. Turns out he’s photogenic too!

Overall, I don’t think I did too bad for the summer visual diary, although I know I could have been better had we have been given more advice, less control and more precise instructions. Looking back maybe I should have had a theme to suit all my images. Each area I photographed during summer has a theme, although it would have been nice for them all to be the same to make a nice, big series.

