First shoot

 

I knew I wanted my location for all my photographs to be taken in the studio. I wanted a controlled area where I can control the lighting, and I wanted a clean white background. I wanted a minimalistic approach where all photos look identical other than the fact I will be using different models who have different hair colours and styles. I have taken some inspiration for this idea from the book I have previously talked about: Heads, by Alex Kayser.

With little idea where I wanted to go with the project, I went straight into my first shoot. I knew how I wanted the lighting to be, but other than that I wasn’t sure on the other aesthetics of the photographs. As you can see I took many different shots in order to give me lots to play around with, and to give me choice in eventually being able to choose what I wanted every model to look like.

Here are my contact sheets from my first shoot:

The first 4 photographs have a black line on the left hand side. This is because the shutter speed was too fast in comparison to the studio lighting speed. This was a great learning curve though, and something which I didn’t know before. In order to match both the shutter speed and lighting speed together, I must ensure that the shutter speed stays below 125th of a second. Screen Shot 2015-02-27 at 22.13.19 Screen Shot 2015-02-27 at 22.13.32 Screen Shot 2015-02-27 at 22.13.54

Screen Shot 2015-02-27 at 22.14.00

 

 

I felt these 4 images turned out the best from the shoot therefore these are the ones I have slightly edited. After reviewing these images I see there are many faults. The models do not have the same facial expression, one is smiling and the other looks serious. This is something I need to correct in future shoots, I need to ensure all models have the same facial expression. I would like this expression to not be serious, and to not be a goofy smile, yet to look content. In other words a straight smile, with no teeth.

Another downfall to these images when compared together is the different lighting. I think it doesn’t help that the models have very different skin tones, but I need to make sure that the lighting stays the same for each shot. Another annoyance is the grey tops they’re both wearing, these tops stand out from the white background and takeaway from the focus being the hair. When shooting again I would like to make sure the models wear a white or plain, minimalistic top.

After all these negative comments, I still think this was a good first shoot. I have a better idea of what shot I would like to continue taking for each model, but I will still continue to experiment in the next shoot as I’m not confident enough that these two shots I have chosen from the shoot are what I want. I have learnt a lot which will help me in upcoming shoots. Practice makes perfect.

