Review of learning outcomes

Now I have come to the end of my assignment, I have been re-reading the learning outcomes. There a a few things that I have failed to mention before which need to be said in order to meet these outcomes:

 

LO: “You must conduct first hand research with at least one relevant and established individual in relation to your topic”

I am annoyed with myself that I didn’t re-check this learning outcome with my course leader. Previously, I was lead to believe that my survey, which is first hand research, would be fine for this. Although on recent discovery, this is not the case, my survey does not count. Therefore, with little to no time, I had to resurrect this. I needed to find an established individual in relation to my topic. My lecturer Anthony suggested getting in touch with someone involved in the university. This is where I found Adrienne Evans. Upon finding her contact on moodle, I discovered that she had no office hours between now and the hand in, as a result I had to email her.

Here is the email I sent to Adrienne: a media and communications lecturer, therefore she is an established individual in the field of feminist studies:

Hi Adrienne,

I’m a first year photography student, my lecturer Anthony Luvera suggested I spoke to you as an established individual, about some first hand research regarding your field of knowledge: feminist studies.

I am currently undergoing a project about women feeling pressured to dye their hair, linking to research around feminist and sexist theories.

If you have the time, I would greatly appreciate you answering the following questions:

1. What are your views on feminism?

2. Do you believe that the majority of women tailor their physical appearance to suit our society?

3. Do you believe that a reason why women feel pressured to look a certain way is due to the mass media?

4. Having knowledge around feminism being a media communications lecturer, do you think you change your appearance to fit in with society, even if something small? How does this knowledge affect you?

Thank you for your time.

Kind Regards,

Olivia Reeds

Unfortunately I still have not received an email in time for the hand-in, but at least I tried!

 

“Show evidence of critical analysis within their practice in relation to some of the key concepts and debates associated with digital  imaging”

I believe that a lecture we had at the beginning of the assignment affected my inspirations for my topic more than I have let on to myself. This lecture being ‘Amateur vs Professional’. It was about how due to photography becoming more and more accessible, anyone can make photography. How do we now distinguish the professional from the amateur? The professional used to be known as a scientist, they had the money and skills to use the machines, but now thousands of images are being made everyday at low costs, if cost at all!

Here is where I came across the work of Erik Kessels ‘Every picture uploaded to flickr in 24 hours’

flickr

This work taught us that we are being constantly flooded by images on the internet. This has a big relevance to the pressures placed upon women in our society by the media. This flood of images is being constantly thrown at women, we are bombarded, causing women to constantly compare themselves to these images resulting in little confidence. Furthermore, this is why many women have little identity, they like to copy what they see in these images, this is where it becomes societies ‘norm’.

“Why is this metaphor of the flood endlessly repeated in the face of counter arguments? In many ways it is either an alibi or code for arguer issues. It is part of the contemporary manifestation of historic concerns about information overload. It signifies the tensions between “amateurs” and and professionals in the image economy. It gives as possible explanation as for why photographs don’t have the power to change many once think they had. And it offers a possible account of why photojournalism seems to be perpetually in crisis.”

-Professor David Campbell

This quote makes me question my previous thoughts about the flood. Does this flood of images really create no-confidence in women? Are women still affected by this mass of images in the media? Even when we know the amount of them and the photoshopping done on them?

I believe that subconsciously, women still believe the media and images they see to affect them. Affect them physically and emotionally.

References:

Johnston, M. (2015) Amateur vs Professional [online lecture] module 151mc, 13th January 2015. Coventry: Coventry University. Available from <https://cumoodle.coventry.ac.uk/pluginfile.php/704587/mod_resource/content/0/Amateur%20Vs%20Professional%20lecture%20notes.pdf&gt; [9th March 2015]

 

