Negotiating access

As part of my summer work set by uni, I was asked to make two new portraits. One portrait of someone I know and one portrait of someone I have never met before.

A major part of my summer has been taken up by helping to create and photograph two new clothing companies. One being a company called Win-Or-Lose, and the other being my Fathers new company called Teddy Edward.

 

Win or Lose

The work I photographed for Win-Or-Lose was my first paid job, and what a great experience it was! It involved photographing their products including socks, scarves and hats, jumpers, polo shirts and also a day of a lifestyle. For the lifestyle shoot, the company hired a model from Blake models, someone I had never met before. In the time coming up to the shoot, I was particularly nervous about photographing someone I had never met before, knowing I had to stay professional and achieve the photos I was being asked to. Furthermore, I was photographing someone who is an expert in their field and this was my first job! Luckily on the day all my nerves disappeared, I was able to be confident and stay professional. Probably due to the pressure I felt to do well and create what was being asked of me that I just got on with the job in hand. On the day, from the first ‘hello’, I approached the model in a professional manner making it easier for us both. There would have been no use telling him that this was my first paid job, it would have just made it awkward for all of us. I am happy with the lifestyle photographs I achieved on the day, here’s a select few.

 

Teddy Edward

When photographing for Teddy Edward, things were a lot different. First off, I wasn’t being paid (I was doing a favour for my Dad) and secondly neither were the models. Due to the company Teddy Edward being new, they had no income therefore couldn’t afford to pay for photography or models. Luckily, together the company and I reached out to friends who were kind enough to model the clothing for free, with an incentive of them receiving clothing in return.

The atmosphere for the lifestyle shoot had to be made much more relaxed in order to help my friends who were modelling feel at ease. This was a challenge to say the least. I created a more humorous atmosphere rather than serious enabling me to achieve more natural photographs which is what the company wanted. Part of making the models feel relaxed involved movement, if they stayed still for long their bodies began to look stiff. I felt slightly awkward when telling to models what to do and how to look because I knew them, being friends, I didn’t want them thinking I was bossy. I tried to meet somewhere in the middle which seemed to work as no one complained.

I am especially pleased with the main lifestyle shot which will be used on posters, flyers and to be fitted in a big frame to go on the stand when the company visit country shows.

websiteIMG_4035small

 

Overall I would say that I actually found it easier to photograph someone I didn’t know as opposed to my friends for multiple reasons. When photographing the subject I didn’t know, this made me more professional and the shoot was made much easier by having a professional model. The model would move around and pose without me telling him what to do which meant I could purely focus on my job and not worry to much about what the models doing. Where as when photographing my friends in the Teddy Edward shoot, of course none of them were models so I was constantly asking them to move this way and that, as well as doing my job as the photographer. Ideally it would have been easier if I’d have had some kind of helper or stylist telling the models what to do. Having said that the models were great and didn’t mind me telling them what to do (luckily). We achieved what we set out to do after many photos.

Please take a look at the new companies:

http://win-or-lose.com

11880498_409626572577697_6143846766242291583_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

teddy-edward.com

 

And look out for my photography!..

 

 

