Fashion Stories

I’m researching into how fashion stories are made, what they look like, how they’re laid out, and whats incorporated…

 

Vogue Italia Fashion story, Cheeky

Photos by Mario Testino

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 9.24.36 PM

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 9.24.46 PM Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 9.25.00 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is an online fashion story, laid out similar to what a magazine fashion story would look like. You can imagine folding the page in half to be a magazine, and there’s a white border around the edge of the pages, similar to that of a magazine. Furthermore, text is used to assist in telling the story. These are all things I will consider when designing my equine attire fashion story.

http://www.vogue.it/en/magazine/fashion-stories/2016/02/cheeky-photos-by-mario-testino#ad-image


 

An interesting take on what editorial fashion photography is by Sheeba Magazine:

What is editorial fashion photography?

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 9.35.24 PM

Points to take away:

-Editorial images are used to to illustrate a story, article, text or idea within a magazine or to embellish a certain theme visually.

-Usually fashion images in a magazine tell a story.

-Fashion stories are not just about the clothes, the mood, situation and garments are all things to consider too.

-Editorial images are not advertisements, editorials come along with credits and sell a story.

 


 

 

Fashion stories on Rough online are laid out in this format…

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 9.54.11 PM

A main image is the first feature, then a lot of text telling the story. More images are shown as a smaller gallery on the right, you can click on them to make the images bigger. Using this amount of text within my story is not something I want to do, firstly because I don’t feel it is needed, and secondly because I am not selling the fashion, the story can be told through the visual on its own.

 


 

 

I came across this fashion story inside Hello Fashion magazine, which I love! Photographed by James Lucas, directed by Jodie Nellist, and presumably titled ‘The Great Outdoors‘. It’s just my style at the moment and will inspire my work.

I like the layout of the story, the continuity of the photograph colours, theres something about them that makes the images work really well together. I like the minimalistic text, this is something I need to consider for my story, do I include text? What would the text say, as I am not selling or advertising the fashion/clothing?

I particularly like the title on the first page of the story, again this is something I will consider, I like the idea of titling my story, or having a tag line like this one featured.

The images are all slightly different sizes yet work really well together, I like this. It’s nice to see not all images bleed to the edge of the page, some incorporate a white border.

 

[Untitled]-2 [Untitled]-3 [Untitled]-4 [Untitled]-5 [Untitled]

