Fashion Stories Design Research

I have been looking through designer fashion magazines (from the library-great resource) for inspiration on fashion story designs and layouts……

 

Designer brands have typical layouts inside each magazine they are the same, Gucci for example, all adverts/ stories follow this pattern:

 

Its interesting to see the difference that the size of an image or story on a page can make upon the outcome. The Valentino advert makes me think towards a portrait, more elegant and classy thanks to the clean white border, where as the Hugo Boss advert makes me almost feel like I’m in the scene with her. You feel involved because the advert takes up the whole page, its makes the image more inclusive, I like this, this is something I will replicate in my story.

 

An interesting point that my lecturer Gemma made (let me point out that she is a documentary style photographer) is that you possibly shouldn’t have two similar images in a story. These adverts/stories contradict this, proving that in fashion, maybe, you can have similar images in a story? The images on these double page spreads are definitely similar to one another, so similar that they almost merge into one another. This may have been the intended idea, and also these may be just intended single adverts, which is something I should take into account for my story too! I don’t want my images to merge into one another! I want my images to follow a narrative, and for each and every image to have  strong meaning for it being there.

 

 

Something I have considered within my story, is using different sized images to show importance and/or create emphasis on a particular image. This may be more so important when choosing my beginning and ending images for the story. This design in Vogue is an example of this:

FullSizeRender-11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have a few landscape photographs within my chosen images for my fashion story, of which I’ve been debating about how to display them within my story and narrative. When thinking about my sequencing, I noticed that having a landscape next to a portrait image on a double page spread would make the landscape image appear very small in comparison and just wouldn’t look nice. This is why I decided that all of my landscape images that I include in my story will take over a whole double page spread. The advert below disputes my thoughts, and is the complete opposite. For this advert and these images, the design works really well, and no doubt this is their continual style. The white space adds a purity aspect to the advert and a focus on the beauty and product being advertised.

IMG_1009

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Something else I have also considered within my fashion story is having a blank page, and what that would say/add to my narrative. A blank page can also work well for a break, it doesn’t necessarily have to add something to your narrative. For this ‘Oliver Peoples’ double page advert, it worked really well having a blank title page next to the image with a white border, sometimes less is better, in this case it definitely is. I may take inspiration from this page layout and include a title page next to an image as my first double page spread. Some kind of introduction is definately needed for my story, a little bit of context is needed.

IMG_1010

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a story I found inside Vogue, titled ‘Eva’. I like that there appears to be a small introduction to the story, with details such as the photographer etc included in the introduction page. Furthermore, I like that the introduction image covers more than a page, but not quite a whole double page spread, allowing the viewer to know that this is the introduction, this is something I have noticed that many stories do whilst I have been flicking through magazines. This is something I want to try on my introduction page. As the story continues, I like that the images are different sizes on the pages, its more interesting to the eye and it means the story doesn’t get visually boring and repetitive. An added continuity for this story is the pink hue, some black and white images are also featured, these may symbolize femininity and beauty. The colour of continuity within my story is red, although it has been noted that I need to be careful to not ‘drown’ the audience with the colour red, hence why I will be adding images consisting of navy in between the red to break it up a bit. In this story the colour pink is overly prominent which is not a negative for this story, its a positive, it was obviously intended for it to look this way. If my story were to have too much red in it, it may take away from my purpose of the narrative to pay homage to, and create awareness of the timeless, tradition of hunting attire.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Again, this is another way I could add a small bit of context to my story without it taking away from the visuals, and without it turning into an advert..

12810028_10207726806582368_1054696581_o

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is another example of how a full page image can create an immersion feel for the audience, we feel as if we are in the setting with these girls. The website is featured small, on the button right of the image, this is something I could consider if I do a printed copy of my story.

12787472_10207726807622394_366230724_o

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12822648_10207726807862400_266880700_o

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is another first page of a story design which I really like! This one, the introduction is included within the image more, its appears more like a magazine front page. This is a design I am going to try for my first page of the story. I think that the font of the title would work well with my story too. Again, the image is prominent, it takes over more than just the single page, but not quite a double page allowing for the title and introduction. Following this image is a slideshow of this fashion story inside Vogue that I wanted to include simply because I love the photography, this is a style that I completely love, and enjoy to do myself. I notice that the only landscape image included in this story is the first page, this works particularly well for a magazine layout. Although its also worth noting that these images are portraits, so its unlikely that they would have been taken as a landscape.

12773036_10207726808142407_1562694496_o

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Something which I don’t want to do within my fashion story design is add white borders around any images, to me this reciprocates more formal, portraiture images such as those below. I have consistently seen portraiture within Vogue/ Bazaar and Elle designed with a border around it. My images do not fall under the category of portraiture. I like the idea of being immersed in my images by making them full size, full bleed, to the edge of the page.

 

