Thoughts beyond this module

As a class we have decided to have an exhibition featuring our bodies of work from this 266MC module. I think it would be a nice idea to consider printing my Equestrian Fashion story in a small, leaflet/magazine type design which could be used to give to my audience instead of a contact card for instance. An example of what I am visualizing may be the project ‘Not Going Shopping’, curated by Anthony Luvera, however on a much smaller scale. This is something I will continue to investigate after the module, ready for the exhibition and for future reference, possibly in my portfolio. I have printed my own version of the story for visual purposes from my personal printer to use as a starting point. This booklet is printed in a saddle stitch form, like a magazine or newspaper.

 

I chose to display my fashion story online, on my website www.livvyreeds.co.uk however it needs to be considered how the wide range of audience that I desire will see this. At the moment it could just be classed as a portfolio, and I could share it through my online social media, however this is restricted to the people I know. Therefore I have been researching into other ways I could get my fashion story to be seen and shared online. The obvious place I could put my work is Flickr, however this is a site which allows you to add single images and I need to present my story in the booklet design it is in, like the booklet I created on my website: http://www.livvyreeds.co.uk/hunting-fashion/

It has been suggested to me to publish my booklet on the online platform of Issuu. I have never heard of Issuu so I’ve done some research into the platform:

-“Millions of readers find and share the magazines, catalogs and publications they love on issuu”

-“Embedding this publication on your site or blog is one of the easiest ways to attract more readers. Customize the embed with your brand assets, remove links below the publication, and manage sharing options. A little embed goes a long way.”

-“largest collection of free-to-read publications from incredible publishers around the globe”

-The design layout is very similar to the booklet plug-in I used on WordPress, this is great for a publication of my story!

Screen Shot 2016-03-04 at 1.37.32 PM

 

 

 

 

 

-As well as your publication, you can also add a description text below it:

Screen Shot 2016-03-04 at 1.39.31 PM

 

 

 

 

 

-Something else which is great about this online publication is that it is more interactive, people can comment on and share your work:

Screen Shot 2016-03-04 at 1.41.30 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The need to share my fashion story further widespread online is something that I will continue to consider and improve upon even after this module. At this stage I have added my ‘Equestrian Fashion’ booklet to Issuu as an online publication, as seen here:http://issuu.com/livvyreeds/docs/equinefashiononline  however it still needs some work as it is a slightly different upload compared to my booklet on my website. The booklet on my website is set to be constantly open, therefore it doesn’t have a front page. This is because I imagined seeing my story inside of another magazine, not to be its own magazine (although I have looked into making one as an added extra) On Issuu, your work is placed on the publication as its own magazine or booklet, therefore it has a front cover. I have just used a blank page for this at the moment, this needs some further thought and development. Also, the images don’t quite fit the pages, there are some white gutters which I don’t like. I would like the images to be full bleed in order for the audience to feel immersed in the photographs, in the fashion and the community of hunting.

Although still a work in progress, this shows that I am continuing to consider how my work will be seen online, past my website portfolio. I will also be finding other online platforms to support my fashion story.

 

Something else I endeavor to do is to send my story to Horse and Hound, which they could feature in either their magazine or on their website. This is something quite different to what they usually feature, however I think it would fit in really well. I will be contacting them asap to suggest this.

 

 

