Phonar Task 2

For Phonar, task two,  we must develop on a task which we have completed with the Phonar class as part of the ‘finding’ workshop. I have chosen to continue developing Christine Shank’s task, titled ‘One Hour Photo Project’, and to create this further into a body of work consisting of 5-8 images as assigned.

The synopsis of the task was created together as a class into no more than three tweets, as seen in the image below.

Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 10.24.45 PM

 

 

 

 

My original image taken in class in response to the Christine Shank task:

The object in my brown paper bag was a balloon, which I was very stumped with at first, wondering how I could photograph a balloon without it being the stereotypical stock image. I just happened to wonder past this little water fountain and the image sprung to mind.

This initial image could be built upon to produce a substantial body of work by looking at components such as colour, the primary colours on the balloon are very dominant in this image contrasting with the dark shadows. Something else which is very prominent is the use of light and shadow, which could be an interesting component to focus on, this is often a component within my work. Other things you could think about are also movement, water movements, and transport as you can see the balloon moving away from you in the image. Reflections may also be worth looking into, whether that be any reflection or water reflections, although this may be a difficult one when constrained to the city centre. One could find reflections in cars and windows within the town, where as one is more likely to find interesting water reflections in more rural areas, when one takes a step back from the built up city.

 

I chose to focus on the concept of light and shadow to develop my original image into a body of work, whilst keeping the original object as a focus in the images:

Critical Rationale:

As the task is something I wouldn’t normally be involved in due to my preferred practice, I chose a component of the original image which I’m more comfortable with and like to use to create a substantial body of work, consisting of five images. I chose to focus upon the light and shadow element of the image, and to continue using the balloon because it makes an important aspect and focus of the images, its also something consistent within my images helping to create a group of images which stand well together as a body of work. Although I enjoy focusing on the component of light and shadow within my work, within this task I have experimented using an object as my subject rather than a person which has been something different for me to consider.

When creating the images, I simply went out with camera and balloon in hand (with string attached as it was a very windy day, I did have some embarrassing incidents of the balloon flying away and me chasing it.) I carefully chose a day to go out which was sunny as I knew the sun would create more intense shadows. I walked around Coventry in search for light and shadow, photographing many areas knowing that the images would look very different to what my eye sees, so I took as many as I could and edited them when I got back.

I edited all of the images the same, using a black and white filter and increasing the contrast in order to make the shadow stand out, whilst keeping the balloons in colour. This has vastly helped to make the balloon the main focus. One may even see these images as a story of the balloon due to this, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, however I have primarily focused on the light and shadow aspect when photographing. All images are square to suit the Instagram layout, but also because they work well as a body of work like this, cutting out anything distracting in the images forcing the viewer to only focus on the light and shadow concept. I also feel like the images are a bit more fun in a square format, coordinating with the balloons.

Due to this task, in the future I will be able to consider more carefully how I can develop an initial image into a body of work, particularly thinking about form, content and context, and be able to critically reflect upon this before creating new work.

