Phonar Task 3

  1. Tweet:

Screen Shot 2016-05-15 at 4.41.30 PM

 

2. Visual portrait of Author, posted on Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/p/BFPUCdPtHgt/?taken-by=livvyreedsphotography

3. Image you have made in Author’s ‘style’, posted on Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/p/BFPYr0ytHrr/?taken-by=livvyreedsphotography

4. Complete the assignment:

Images taken with left eye open (least dominant eye)-

Images taken with right eye (dominant eye/usual eye used to photograph)-

 

5. Critical Rationale:

I went on a walk to take these images, as the assignment asked “Venture out with your forced disability and start photographing.” At first I covered my right eye by cello-taping a sticky note to my sunglasses, but this proved very difficult to take photographs. So I resulted to covering my right eye, my dominant eye, with my left hand, even though the assignment suggested to not do this, I promise there was no cheating or peeking!

I discovered when covering my dominant eye that I was disorientated and unbalanced, I generally found that my photographs were framed further to the left to compensate for the covering of my right eye, rather than my usual balanced, central framing. Obviously it was much harder to keep changing my aperture and shutter speed as I was disorientated with one eye not in use, which made photographing harder, particularly when photographing the moving horses.

Whilst photographing, I kept in mind research I had found about Melinda Gibson, thinking about how she looks at photography in a new way, she considers how images are viewed and understood through the technological advances in photography today, and the help and hindrances that come with this, which is how I understand why Gibson set this assignment. Although Gibsons images are wonderfully complex and layered, allowing us to question reality, the idea of changing completely how I photograph by not using my most dominant eye is new to me, so I primarily focused on this hurdle when completing the task rather than trying Gibson’s style. If I had more time, this would be something I would consider doing.

The task made me consider my images and composure in a new way, so that when I go out to photograph, I carefully think about how I do so and not just comfortably photographing what I first see. It’s encouraged me to think out of my comfort zone, sometimes its good to try a new approach, even if you don’t stick to it, you never know what you could get out of it.

 

6. Write a letter/communication to the author of your Playbook assignment:

I chose to communicate with Gibson by creating a postcard knowing that she would appreciate it as every year before the festivities she creates her own cards based on an artist, thinker or creator who she’s found inspirational for that year. In 2015 her cards were based on Joseph Cornell, so I researched into his art and created my own postcard for Gibson.

 

FullSizeRender-5

 

 

 

 

FullSizeRender-4

Just to clarify, this is what my postcard says:

“Dear Melinda,

Just a quick message to say that I have recently completed your task within Aperture’s Photographer’s Playbook, and I wanted to share my experience with you.

Primarily the task indefinitely made me thankful for having great, full eyesight, allowing me to naturally compose my images as a photographic practitioner in a balanced manner. Although thinking further than that, it will adapt my practice in the future by taking my images further than the first thing I see.

I found when taking images with my least dominant eye that my framing was generally to the left and I felt really unbalanced, I guess photographing moving subjects didn’t help with that. See my response to your task on my blog: http://www.livvyreeds.wordpress.com

I want to thank you for opening my eyes to how lucky I am, and for making me try working in a different manner to that I’m stuck in. Hope you enjoy my Joseph Cornell inspired postcard.

Kind Regards,

Livvy Reeds (BA Hons Undergraduate Student)”

 

(Also, I made up the postal address as due to privacy reasons Gibson’s address cannot be readily found.)